Dramatic first day of racing at the Leipaja Europeans ....

Everything that could happen did happen on the first day of racing at the European Championships; but Steve Allen will be well satisfied with his first place in the overall ranking after 2 bullets in today's three "back to back" races.
A delayed start, followed by race one being abandoned, twice, led to a long postponement at the beach before racing resumed at 16.50.
Rain showers throughout the day brought with it permanent wind-shifts which meant the Race Director, Bruno de Wannemaeker, resetting the course before each race.
It was decided to go for 3 back to back races to ensure we made the most of the time, and conditions, available - and to validate the championship.
This is possibly the first major championship where this rule, approved at the 2008 AGM, has been implemented.
A collision between LAT-23 and FRA-823 in race 3 led to redress for Janis Preiss and 4th place overall , and demotion from the top 10 for Valentin Brault who records a DNE!
The only OCS of the day saw Filip Korczycki (POL-555) lose out on a top ten finish in both race 3 and the overall ranking.
A long day for all concerned with the championship and despite the conditions, which made launching, and returning to the beach, tricky, most competitors started and finished all races.
At the end of the day the event is set to be a close fought championship; with at least 6 riders within a few points of the top there is no room for error.
Racing resumes tomorrow from 10.00

Top 6 after 3 races:
1) Steve Allen (AUS-0) 6pts
2) Casper Bouman (NED-52) 9pts
3) Michal Polanowski (POL-16) 11pts
4) Janis Preiss (LAT-23) 12pts
5) Sebastian Kornum (DEN-24) 13pts
6) Arnon Dagan (ISR-1) 15pts

COURSE day 1.pdf

13th of February 20192019 Portimao Formula Championships

The International Formula Windsurfing Class return to Praia da Roche, Portimao, for 2 major championships.

4th of February 2019Australian 2019 Nationals

19th of October 20182018 Annual General Meeting minutes

The meeting was held on Wednesday 19th September 2018, Clube Naval Portimao.

9th of October 2018Committee changes ...

Following this years AGM Vasco Chaveca has decided to step down from the class committee.

20th of September 2018Two down and one more to go

After five days being patient paid off and we have our new Raceboard Masters and Formula Windsurfing world champions.

5th of September 2018AGM 2018 of the International Formula Windsurfing Class - Agenda

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING of the International Formula Windsurfing Class to be held on Wednesday 19th September 2018, after racing in Portimao, Portugal.

20th of August 2018Notice of 2018 AGM

The Annual General Meeting of the Formula Class will take place during the forthcoming World Championships in Portimao, Portugal on Wednesday, september 19th.

6th of July 2018Janis Preiss and Steve Allen win the European Championships

With one race to go both Janis and Steve have secured top spots in the championships for Formula Windsurfing and Formula Windsurfing FOIL.

25th of May 2018Data Protection Policy

We have rewritten our Privacy and Data Protection Policies to ensure that they clearly outline what data we gather.

30th of April 2018Hubert Mokrzycki from Poland claims title in Lagos

Congratulating the overall winner and Masters Champion Hubert Mokrzycki from Poland, and Youth Champion Fernando Lamadrid from Spain.