16th of August 2011, Latvia, FW European Championships and Grand Prix

Day one reports

18:53 | I leave you with this one quote about Liepaja - "What attracts tourists the most is probably the whitest and softest sandy beach..."

18:52 | Full results will be available soon - check out the event website for photo gallery

18:51 | One more race tomorrow and then we split the mens fleet into Gold and Silver

18:49 | No protests - good sign of efficient race committee under PRO Bruno de Wannemaeker

13:33 | In the end we had some great racing today - despite the ominous start . It was a typical afternoon - sun and wind !

18:32 | UKR9 was first finisher in womens race 3

18:30 | First finishers in race 3 for blue group - ISR1, POL25, NED52, AUS0, FRA105,

17:55 | Women have stsrted race 3 and blue group men will start son

12:15 | Yellow group race 3 - top finishers were : POL013 (Pont), POL10, ARG3, and NED13

17:16 | sorry - change that - POL19 is second in womens fleet ; race 2 was won by UKR9

17:15 | first 5 finishers in race 2 - blue group - NED52, ISR1, POL19, POL25, POL11 -

15:09 | Yellow fleet are in sequence for race 3- we will complete three races for all today. Tonight there is an opening ceremony on the quayside.

16.21 | Women are starting race 2 - first finishers in race 1 for women - POL19, LAT140, POL213

16:20 | top 5 finishers in race 2 for yellow group - POL10, ARG3, NED13, POL16, POL013

15:30 | Top 10 in blue race 1 - AUS0, POL25, ISR1, NED52, POL11, POL19, EST202, FRA531, FRA105, FRA732

15:20 | Yellow fleet are going out for race 2

15:04 | good wind now - sun shining - top3 in race 1 for blue -AUS0,POL25,ISR1

15:00 | apologies for the lack of info - we are working to fix that ..

14:55 | blue fleet are racing

14:36 | blue group and women are back on the water ready for race 1

12:55 | Top 5 finishers in race 1 for yelloe group - POL013, POL10, NED13, ARG3, POL16 ..

13:42 | The wind has dropped and the Race Officer has decided to send the racers back to the beach.
the AP flag will go up on the beach .

13:40 | the groups will alternate race and rest

13:39 | Race 1 for yellow fleet is finishing and the blue fleet men and women are called to the starting area

12:55 | 5 mins to start of the first race of these championships

12:25 | the conditions are improving - AP will come down at 12.30. At 12.40 class flag for Yellow fleet will go up - indicating a minimum of 20 minutes to their first warning signal.

11:31 | This will be the first championship using the new Group Racing system approved at the 2009 AGM in Santa Pola. 4 races in qualification - see the full details published on the ONB or on this FW event page

11:30 | We have 98 competitors from 18 countries; 90 men and 8 women . women will race separately from men . The men will race in two groups.

11:25 | Good morning from Liepaja. We have had the skippers meeting and are now on postponement. The wind is only 4>6 knots , onshore, but forecast to improve during the day.

13th of February 20192019 Portimao Formula Championships

The International Formula Windsurfing Class return to Praia da Roche, Portimao, for 2 major championships.

4th of February 2019Australian 2019 Nationals

19th of October 20182018 Annual General Meeting minutes

The meeting was held on Wednesday 19th September 2018, Clube Naval Portimao.

9th of October 2018Committee changes ...

Following this years AGM Vasco Chaveca has decided to step down from the class committee.

20th of September 2018Two down and one more to go

After five days being patient paid off and we have our new Raceboard Masters and Formula Windsurfing world champions.

5th of September 2018AGM 2018 of the International Formula Windsurfing Class - Agenda

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING of the International Formula Windsurfing Class to be held on Wednesday 19th September 2018, after racing in Portimao, Portugal.

20th of August 2018Notice of 2018 AGM

The Annual General Meeting of the Formula Class will take place during the forthcoming World Championships in Portimao, Portugal on Wednesday, september 19th.

6th of July 2018Janis Preiss and Steve Allen win the European Championships

With one race to go both Janis and Steve have secured top spots in the championships for Formula Windsurfing and Formula Windsurfing FOIL.

25th of May 2018Data Protection Policy

We have rewritten our Privacy and Data Protection Policies to ensure that they clearly outline what data we gather.

30th of April 2018Hubert Mokrzycki from Poland claims title in Lagos

Congratulating the overall winner and Masters Champion Hubert Mokrzycki from Poland, and Youth Champion Fernando Lamadrid from Spain.