12th of January 2014, Australia, 2014 Formula Oceanic Championships


A long day on the beach for the competitors produced just 2 races in light and shifty conditions on the final day of the Downunder Pro - Formula Windsurfing Oceanic & Australian Championships. Jesper Vesterstrøm managed to hold on to his 2 point lead to take the event win ahead of the newly crowned Australian & Oceanic Champion, Sean O’Brien.

With a good forecast of wind for the day, competitors were at the beach early, preparing for the final day of racing at the 2014 Downunder Pro – Formula Windsurfing Oceanic & Australian Championships. The target from the race committee was to run 3 back-to-back races which with only 2 points separating first and second overall, made for an exciting and critical day for the podium spots.

By 1pm racers were out on the water to begin the first race, with light and shifty NE’erly winds around 8-11 knots. Sean O’Brien (Starboard/Severne), starting the day 2 points behind the leader from Denmark, had a good starboard start to lead towards the first mark before a mistake downwind opened the door for his rival Jesper Vesterstrøm (Gaastra/Gaastra) who was able to hold on to the win in the first race, cementing his lead.

O’Brien needed to dig deep in the second race to have a chance to come back and both he and Vesterstrøm match-raced in their own pocket of the course, sailing in to a massive wind hole in the second race and were becalmed for almost 2 minutes, allowing third placed overall Luke Baillie (Starboard/Severne) to storm ahead, never looking back and taking the Race 10 win by over 1 minute, with O’Brien hot on his heels in second and Vesterstrøm managing to fight back from 5th at the bottom mark on the second lap, to 3rd over the line.

This 3rd place was enough for Vesterstrøm to secure the title and the race committee opted to halt racing for the day as the wind became fluky and gusty and suitable racing conditions were lost. The top 3 for the event remained as this morning, Vesterstrøm followed by O’Brien then Baillie, with O’Brien taking the Oceanic title and his 7th Australian formula windsurfing title. O’Brien said of the event:
“Pretty happy with the result! The event timing was tricky to have all the new equipment arrive in time so I hadn’t had a chance to try one single piece of gear before the event.

Amazed with my new Reflex-5 Severne sails and new Starboard 167. I had some secret weapons with a radical new Slake mast and VMG Blades fin which for the first time let me put the pace on Jesper and actually beat him consistently in the lighter winds. Had a really good battle but he got me in the end!”
In the Grand Masters division, a hotly contested division here, Rick Murray (JP/North) was able to hold off Tibor Firenczy (Starboard/Severne) and Glenn Morrell (Starboard/Severne).

A new division for the sailors new to the formula windsurfing class called “Free Formula” was run for the seventh time at a National titles this year. The division allows newer sailors the opportunity to race at the same time as the Pro Division but with shortened courses. The division was dominated by Bruce Healey (Starboard/Severne), Adam Craven (JP/Neilpryde) and Thomas Burkey (Starboard/North).
After the prizegiving at the event host Georges River Sailing Club, competitors enjoyed a meal and beverage at the ‘Golden Sheaf’ in Double Bay as part of the post event celebrations.

Further information about the FW Oceanic & Australian Championships as well as a media service with
press releases, results, rankings, background information and photo/video downloads can be found on the
official website www.fw-australia.com.

Contact and further information:
Sean O’Brien
Organising Committee / Media Relations
Phone: 0402 467 857
E-Mail: seanobrien@aus120.com
Internet: www.fw-australia.com

Press Release 3 - FW Championships (11-01-14).pdf

5th of July 2020Formula Foil World Championships - schedule change

The Vanora Engadinwind by Dakine now also includes the iQFOiL European Championships.

22nd of June 20202020 Engadinwind Festival programme update

The schedule for this championship now runs from 17th to 22nd August.

12th of May 2020Cancelation notice - 2020 Youth and Masters World Championships

Due to the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic the Polish Windsurfing Association (PSW) in agreement with the International Formula Windsurfing Class Association (IFWC) have been forced to cancel the 2020 Youth and Masters World Championships.

16th of March 2020Formula Foil South Americans a success

43 racers signed up for the first Formula Foil South American Championships hosted by the Asociacion Argentina de Windsurf on Lake Potrerillos, Mendoza, Argentina.

19th of December 2019FW Committee policy for 2020 – titles

The following world titles will be awarded at class championships in 2020 : Mens, Womens, Youth and Masters Formula Foil World Champion

8th of December 2019Vanora ENGADINWIND by Dakine will host the Formula Foil World Championship in 2020

From August 19th to 23rd wonderful valley of the Engadine, lake Silvaplana will be the place to be.

13th of November 2019iFoil - The Olympics 2024 and beyond

Starboard iFoil has been selected as the 2024 Olympic Equipment, replacing the RS:X equipment after the 2020 Olympic Games.

5th of November 2019Family power - Azores Windfoil Challenge

The names are always big at the Azores Windfoil Challenge and with foiling just around the corner at the Olympics, the 2nd edition of this open foil event could not be more exciting.

5th of November 2019World Sailing’s Annual Conference wraps up in Bermuda – iFoil confirmed for 2024

World Sailing's Annual General Meeting concluded the 2019 Annual Conference on Sunday 3 November in Bermuda.

18th of October 2019iFoil: The Beginning of a New Era?

We are after the Sea Trials at Lake Garda, Starboard Olympic Tender proposal the iFoil has been officially recommended by the Paris 2024 Windsurfer Evaluation Working Party of World Sailing.