18th of August 2003

Neil Pryde Baltic Cup 2003

by Erno Kaasik
On August 8 to 10 the finals of the largest and most popular windsurfing competition in the Baltics, Neil Pryde Baltic Cup took place in Estonia at the Pirita beach, Tallinn.

Last years champion of Latvia Janis Preiss (North/Fanatic) showed his strength, with 6.1 points he was clearly the best and left behind two strong Estonians - Erno Kaasik (Neilpryde/Starboard) took the second place (18 points) and Martin Ervin (Neilpryde/Starboard) was the third (22 points). Then Finnish windsurfer Jani Paju (Gun/Lorch) came fourth (23 points) and Juhan Peedimaa (Neilpryde/Starboard) was fifth with 24 points.

Ranking was held in five different categories and besides Open Fleet also:
Kateriine Mik (Gaastra/Fanatic) - Estonia - 198 points and in overall 44 place,
Ieva Trizna (Gaastra/AHD) - Latvia - 488 points and in overall 63 place,
Eerika Aasa (Neilpryde/Starboard) - Estonia - 535 points and in overall 67 place.
Arvydas Moliusis (Gaastra/Starboard) - Lithuania - 96 points and in overall 27 place,
Koit Teder (Gaastra/Starboard) - Estonia - 145 points and in overall 39 place,
Peeter Nommik (Gaastra/Starboard) - Estonia - 165 points and in overall 43 place.
JĂźrgen Joepera (Gaastra/Fanatic) - Estonia - 156 points and in overall 42 place,
Siim Siirak - Estonia - 202 points and in overall 45 place,
Christopher Kalk - Estonia - 250 points and in overall 48 place.
...results in xlx file

On the first two days of the contest there was strong 8 - 10 m/sec north wind blowing that rolled up solid waves. These were perfect conditions for the hard competition, where the top windsurfers from Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Finland gathered. After the first day's four races Janis Preiss (North/Fanatic) was leading, but Erno Kaasik (Neilpryde/Starboard) and Jani Paju (Gun/Lorch) were very closely behind.

On Saturday the legendary public competition Aegna Marathon was held. The Aegna Marathon is a course race windsurfing competition, where both serious sportsmen, as well as beginners can compete with each other. The course will start from the beach of Pirita, go around the sign in front of Aegna's port and end with a finish back at Pirita beach. The distance to Aegna and back is 24 kilometers, but this time windsurfers had to cover more than 60 kilometers because of the wind conditions. When the start was given, then the wind was strong (10-11 m/sec) and waves high, but soon the wind dropped and beside Aegna island the water was almost calm. Janis Preiss (North/Fanatic) won the marathon with the time 1h 30min, Erno Kaasik (Neilpryde/Starboard) was secon 1 h 34 min and Martin Ervin (Neilpryde/Starboard) third 1 h 37 min.
Because the weather conditions were very good, there was one more race held in the afternoon and Latvians took the first two places there. Preiss was the first and Maris Smiltenieks (Gaastra/Starboard) the second, third was Estonian Juhan Peedimaa (Neilpryde/Starboard).

In the early morning of Sunday, the conditions were still quite good and there was one race, which was won by Latvian Krisjanis Tutans (North/Fanatic). But during lunch time on Sunday as the wind dropped, the decision was made to cancel next races. So alltogether there were seven races, among which Janis Preiss won three.

The Tallinn competition was also the final event for the overall Neil Pryde Baltic Cup, where more than 200 windsurfers competed this year. In overall the first four places were taken by Latvians - first Janis Preiss (North/Fanatic)(14,2 points), second Maris Birzuls (North/Fanatic)(49p.), third Krisjanis Tutans (North/Fanatic)(54,7p.) and fourth Maris Smiltenieks (Gaastra/Starboard)(56,7p.). Estonian best windsurfer Erno Kaasik (Neilpryde/Starboard)(57p.) was fifth and Juhan Peedimaa (Neilpryde/Starboard)(59p.) took the sixth place.

1 Janis Preiss LAT 23 Open Fanatic North
2 Maris Birzuls LAT 11 Open Fanatic North
3 Krisjanis Tutans LAT 168 Open Fanatic North
4 Maris Smiltenieks LAT 68 Open Starboard Gaastra
5 Erno Kaasik EST 2 Open Starboard Neilpryde
6 Juhan Peedimaa EST 47 Open Starboard Neilpryde
7 Martin Ervin EST 202 Open Starboard Neilpryde
8 Toomas MĂślder EST 44 Open Fanatic Gaastra
9 Kristaps Vitols LAT 313 Open Starboard Neilpryde
10 Arbo Arrak EST 10 Open Starboard Neilpryde
11 Margus Otsa EST 55 Open Starboard Neilpryde
12 Arvydas Moliusis LTU 789 Master Starboard Gaastra
13 Tälis Petersons LAT 119 Open Starboard Neilpryde
14 Klavs Ozolins LAT 2 Open F2 Warp
15 Bruno Strauss LAT 134 Open Starboard Neilpryde

The best senior was Lithuanian Arvydas Moliusis (Gaastra/Starboard)(184 points), who in overall got 12th place. The best women was Kateriine Mik (Gaastra/Fanatic)(508 points and in overall 41st place) from Estonia and in junior fleet the best was Estonian JĂźrgen Joepera (Gaastra/Fanatic)(495 points and 39 place).
...NP Baltic Cup 2003 results in xlx file

27th of April 2019Formula Foil European Championships - equipment limitations

This rule limits a competitor to the use of ONE (1) FOIL.

13th of February 20192019 Portimao Formula Championships

The International Formula Windsurfing Class return to Praia da Roche, Portimao, for 2 major championships.

4th of February 2019Australian 2019 Nationals

19th of October 20182018 Annual General Meeting minutes

The meeting was held on Wednesday 19th September 2018, Clube Naval Portimao.

9th of October 2018Committee changes ...

Following this years AGM Vasco Chaveca has decided to step down from the class committee.

20th of September 2018Two down and one more to go

After five days being patient paid off and we have our new Raceboard Masters and Formula Windsurfing world champions.

5th of September 2018AGM 2018 of the International Formula Windsurfing Class - Agenda

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING of the International Formula Windsurfing Class to be held on Wednesday 19th September 2018, after racing in Portimao, Portugal.

20th of August 2018Notice of 2018 AGM

The Annual General Meeting of the Formula Class will take place during the forthcoming World Championships in Portimao, Portugal on Wednesday, september 19th.

6th of July 2018Janis Preiss and Steve Allen win the European Championships

With one race to go both Janis and Steve have secured top spots in the championships for Formula Windsurfing and Formula Windsurfing FOIL.

25th of May 2018Data Protection Policy

We have rewritten our Privacy and Data Protection Policies to ensure that they clearly outline what data we gather.