11th of January 2014, Australia, 2014 Formula Oceanic Championships


A building breeze today gusting up to 27 knots allowed 5 more races on Day 2 of the Downunder Pro - Formula Windsurfing Oceanic & Australian Championships. Jesper Vesterstrøm clawed his way back in to the lead by 1 point ahead of teammates Sean O’Brien and Luke Baillie.

A solid forecast with building winds on Day 2 greeted the competitors ready to kick off the next 5 races at the 2014 Downunder Pro – Formula Windsurfing Oceanic & Australian Championships. With sailors on the water by 12.30 for the first start with gusty winds around 8-12 knots.

Sean O’Brien (Starboard/Severne) began the day strongly taking the first bullet in Race 5 today ahead of Byron McIlveen (Patrik/Point-7) and Luke Baillie (Starboard/Severne). Jesper Vesterstrøm (Gaastra/Gaastra), who hadn’t been in as quick in the lighter winds had a slow start to the day posting a 4th before finding his gears as the breeze increased over the day.

Determined to challenge for the title, Vesterstrøm clawed his way back to the lead by winning the next 4 races in a row ahead of O’Brien, as the winds built across the afternoon reaching 27 knots in the final race, with most of the competitors on their smallest rigs.
Baillie, who was part of the 4-way tie in 4th yesterday, had a solid day and cemented his 3rd place overall today posting a 3rd, 3rd, 5th and 4th ahead of Sam Parker (JP/Neilpryde) and McIllveen, who make up the Top 4.

With the Downunder Pro being the first formula windsurfing event of the year and the new 2-year cycle for boards, the opportunity to see the new equipment performing in a variety of wind conditions over the past 2 days was prominent. O’Brien, using his new Starboard 167 and Severne Reflex-5 11.5m for the majority of races, appeared to dominate in the light/medium wind races over the 2 days, holding out his rival Vesterstrøm who was on his Gaastra Vapor 12m and Gaastra Vapor board before the wind turned ballistic later in the afternoon today which appeared to give Vesterstrøm a speed advantage which he was able to take advantage of. Baillie, O’Brien’s teammate, was also on the new Starboard 167, only registering one sail for the event; Severne Reflex-5 10.7m and has been consistent in both the light and strong wind races ahead of Parker on the 2014 JP Formula with Neilpryde EVO V sails and McIlveen on the Patrik Diethelm board and Point-7 AC-1 sails.

Coming in to the final day of racing tomorrow, Vesterstrøm leads O’Brien by only 1 point and the title is up for grabs with a proposed 3 races to finish the event and a similar forecast of building NE’erly winds over the day. Can O’Brien claw back the 1 point difference to win the event title and clinch his 7th Australian formula windsurfing title? And can Baillie hang on to his 3rd position overall and make his first podium finish on the formula windsurfing Australian circuit. Tune in tomorrow for all the action.

Further information about the FW Oceanic & Australian Championships as well as a media service with press releases, results, rankings, background information and photo/video downloads can be found on the official website www.fw-australia.com.

Contact and further information:
Sean O’Brien
Organising Committee / Media Relations AUSTRALIAN WINDSURFING ASSOCIATION
Phone: 0402 467 857
E-Mail: seanobrien@aus120.com
Internet: www.fw-australia.com

Press Release 2 - FW Championships (10-01-14).pdf

5th of July 2020Formula Foil World Championships - schedule change

The Vanora Engadinwind by Dakine now also includes the iQFOiL European Championships.

22nd of June 20202020 Engadinwind Festival programme update

The schedule for this championship now runs from 17th to 22nd August.

12th of May 2020Cancelation notice - 2020 Youth and Masters World Championships

Due to the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic the Polish Windsurfing Association (PSW) in agreement with the International Formula Windsurfing Class Association (IFWC) have been forced to cancel the 2020 Youth and Masters World Championships.

16th of March 2020Formula Foil South Americans a success

43 racers signed up for the first Formula Foil South American Championships hosted by the Asociacion Argentina de Windsurf on Lake Potrerillos, Mendoza, Argentina.

19th of December 2019FW Committee policy for 2020 – titles

The following world titles will be awarded at class championships in 2020 : Mens, Womens, Youth and Masters Formula Foil World Champion

8th of December 2019Vanora ENGADINWIND by Dakine will host the Formula Foil World Championship in 2020

From August 19th to 23rd wonderful valley of the Engadine, lake Silvaplana will be the place to be.

13th of November 2019iFoil - The Olympics 2024 and beyond

Starboard iFoil has been selected as the 2024 Olympic Equipment, replacing the RS:X equipment after the 2020 Olympic Games.

5th of November 2019Family power - Azores Windfoil Challenge

The names are always big at the Azores Windfoil Challenge and with foiling just around the corner at the Olympics, the 2nd edition of this open foil event could not be more exciting.

5th of November 2019World Sailing’s Annual Conference wraps up in Bermuda – iFoil confirmed for 2024

World Sailing's Annual General Meeting concluded the 2019 Annual Conference on Sunday 3 November in Bermuda.

18th of October 2019iFoil: The Beginning of a New Era?

We are after the Sea Trials at Lake Garda, Starboard Olympic Tender proposal the iFoil has been officially recommended by the Paris 2024 Windsurfer Evaluation Working Party of World Sailing.