28th of August 2005, Portugal, Windsurfing Euro-Cup Oeiras

Windsurfing Euro-Cup Oeiras
Wojtek Brzozowski wins the final event of the EC tour 2005

press release - Oeiras, August 28th 2005.
Also on the final day the wind played the game at the Windsurfing Euro-Cup Oeiras. So it was possible to run two more races before the deadline of the last possible start forced race director Claudio Alessandrello to put an end to the competition. The South American riders showed the best performance on the final day with one bullet for the Brazilian Wilhelm Schurmann (BRA-999, Starboard, Neil Pryde) and another one for Gonzalo Costa Hoevel (ARG-3, F2, Neil Pryde) from Argentina. But the overall triumph went to the "Racing Dominator" Wojtek Brzozowski (POL-10, Starboard, Neil Pryde) from Poland.

In the first race Wilhelm Schurmann was able to achieve his first top position in the regatta. Wojtek confirmed his ambitions to win the regatta with a second place in front of Devon Boulon (ISV-1, F2, Windwing) from the Virgin Islands. The Italion Champion Andrea Cucchi (ITA-1, Starboard, Neil Pryde) scored a solid fourth place in front of Fernando Martinez (ESP-71, Starboard, Severne) from Spain and the German hotshot Vincent Langer (GER-122, Starboard, Simmer). Bad luck for Gonzalo Costa Hoevel: His sail
was damaged so that he was not able to finish this race. But Joao Santos (POR-8, Starboard, Neil Pryde) from Portugal offered him his sail. With approval of the protest committee Gonzalo was allowed to use this sail in the final race.

And the Argentinean definitely took the chance. He won the the final race of the Euro-Cup Oeiras in front of the double World Champion Micah Buzianis (USA-34, F2, North Sails). The third place went to Andrea Cucchi with Michael Polanowski (POL-16, Starboard, Severne) and Davide Beverino (ITA-3, Starboard, Neil Pryde) on his heals.

After four days of competition the racers have sailed not less then 10 races which gives them two discards. With four first places an a total of 14,8 points Wojtek Brzozowski is the clear winner of the Windsurfing Euro-Cup Oeiras. With also four victories but three points behing follows Gonzalo Costa Hoevel from Argentina (17,8 points). The third position on the podium went to Devon Boulon. He presented a very solid performance with 29,0 points. After the top three we can find a head to head fight for the fourth place between "Danish Dynamite" Jesper VesterstrĂśm (DEN-111, Starboard, Neil Pryde) and the "Italian Stallion" Andrea Cucchi. Both racer have 39,7 points but in the tie break Jesper is able to slip in front as he has the better discards then the Italian. Vincent Langer from Germany is the best Youth competitor with 94 points on position 13.

The official website of the event with more information is www.overpower.net. The Windsurfing Euro-Cup Oeiras is covered on
www.euro-cup.org, www.formulawindsurfing.org and www.internationalwindsurfing.com.


Sponsors and Supporters:

Hosted by: Oeiras
Organized by: Overpower Club
Main Sponsor: Oeiras City Hall
Sponsors: Delta
Supporters: IWA, IFCA, Windsurfing Euro-Cup


Contacts and further Information:

Ceri Williams (Chairman)
International Formula Windsurfing Class (IFWC)
URL: www.formulawindsurfing.org
E-Mail: FW@internationalwindsurfing.com

Matthias Regber (Director of the Windsurfing Office)
Choppy Water Event Management GmbH
Maßmannstr. 11, 24118 Kiel, Germany
URL: www.euro-cup.org
E-Mail: info@choppywater.de

We will provide daily press releases, results, news etc. for the media. We
can also provide high quality pictures and video footage in TV quality from
the event. If you are interested in any of these please feel free to contact
Matthias Regber at the contact address above.

Choppy Water GmbH
Maßmannstr. 11
24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 (0) 431 / 971 98 98
FAX: +49 (0) 431 / 971 98 99
E-Mail: info@choppywater.de ; m.regber@choppywater.de
Internet: www.choppywater.de ; www.windsurfcup.de ; www.euro-cup.org