13th of August 2005, Switzerland, Windsurfing Euro-Cup


photos: marcweiler.ch
Record Fleet at the Windsurfing Euro-Cup Silvaplana

Silvaplana, August 13th 2005. The Windsurfing Euro-Cup Silvaplana is one of the highlights for the Stimorol Engadinwind.com Festival in Silvaplana (Switzerland). With both disciplines - Slalom and Racing - and a total prize money of EUR 20.000,00 it is a major attraction for the best windsurfers in the World. But also the venue itself is a unique location for a windsurfing event. The Lake is situated at the foot of the beautiful village Silvaplana on 1.875 metres height above sea level. The thin air in combination with the reliable Maloja thermic and the tremendous mountain panorama make the sailing on the Lake an unforgettable experience. All this together brought a new record fleet to the event.

Over 120 competitors from 23 countries create a perfect international atmosphere But not only the quantity of the competitors is impressive. The quality is even more breathtaking. All top racers of the Racing and Slalom scene made their way to Switzerland. First of all of course the current double World Champion Micah Buzianis (USA-34, F2, North Sails) from the United States. He is the reigning World Champion in the disciplines Slalom (IFCA) and Racing (Formula Windsurfing). Now he is hungry to fight also for glory in the Windsurfing Euro-Cup Silvaplana. But the conditions on Lake Silvaplana are completely different and he has to face numerous tough

Antoine Albeau (FRA-192, AHD, Neil Pryde) from France arrives in Silvaplana as current Formula Windsurfing European Champion and he is motivated to win the only Euro-Cup event in the homeland of his board sponsor AHD. Also on fire is Wojtek Brzozowski (POL-10, Starboard, Neil Pryde) who is currently leading the Euro-Cup ranking and wants to ensure his victory in the most prestigious racing and slalom series of the World. As well as the current Speed World Rekord holder Finian Maynard (IBV-11, F2, Naish Sails) who fully dominated the first slalom event of the Windsurfing Euro-Cup in Alacati (Turkey). Full on fire is also Steve Allen (AUS-0, Fanatic, Neil Pryde), the Formula Windsurfing World Champion of 2003. Not to forget the other hotshots like Ross Williams (GBR-83, Starboard Gaastra), Gonzalo Costa Hoevel (ARG-3, F2, Neil Pryde) and Arnon Dagan (ISR-1, Fanatic, Neil Pryde). But the level of competition in the Windsurfing Euro-Cup is extremely tight so that we can easily be surprised by unexpected faces on the podium.

Alone six official Formula Windsurfing World Champions will fight for glory in the Euro-Cup Silvaplana: Wojtek Brzozowski, Steve Allen, Micah Buzianis, Michael Polanowski, Alberto Menegatti and Markus Boumann. Unfortunately the wind didn't get consistent enough for competitions on the first day of the event. After two starting attempts, which both had to be cancelled, the race committee closed the competition for today. For tomorrow the Skippers Meeting is set for 10:00 with the first possible start at 11:00.

The official website of the event with more information is
The Windsurfing Euro-Cup Silvaplana is covered on
www.euro-cup.org, www.formulawindsurfing.org and www.internationalwindsurfing.com.
Besides the reports and the results you will also find a live ticker on www.euro-cup.org.
So check out the internet!


Sponsors and Supporters:

Hosted by: Silvaplana, Sils, St. Moritz
Organized by: Positive Lines
Main Sponsor: STIMOROL
Supporters: IWA, IFCA, Windsurfing Euro-Cup, European Freestyle Protour



Christian MĂźller (Director of Positive Lines, local organizer): "We are proud to host this event for the Worlds best windsurfers. Due to the great support of the sponsors and the region we have been able to create such a big event. Although the wind was not strong enough on the kick-off day we are optimistic that we will get very good competitions in the next days."

Matthias Regber (Director of the Windsurfing Office): "Silvaplana is one of the pearls of the Euro-Cup tour 2005. The conditions here are unique in the whole World. With both disciplines - Racing and Slalom - and 20.000,00 Euro prize money it is a major attraction for the top competitors. We have not less then six official World Champions of the International Formula Windsurfing participating in this event!"