20th of September 2018, Portugal, Portimao Windsurfing World Championships

Two down and one more to go

Portimao Windsurfing Worlds have delivered at the very last minute. After five days being patient paid off and we have our new Raceboard Masters and Formula Windsurfing world champions.
The raceboarders with a wind range allowing them to sail in much lighter conditions than the planning Formula Windsurfing class were able to complete 6 races during the course of the championship. Joao Rodrigues made the home crowd proud with a dominant performance:

“It is the first time I win such a big event in my home country, we had the RS:X Worlds and Europeans in Portugal, but it is the first time for me to be on the podium in such a big event at home. Very nice. The raceboard comes natural to me. The sails are so light and it is amazing to pump and feel it going effortlessly, so I was having a lot of fun. My equipment was just perfect and I felt very good during the races.”

Curro Manchon (ESP) was second ahead of Juha Blinnikka (FIN) and Jorge Garcia Velazco (ARG). The latter two battling out until the very last race and ending up on equal points.

Over at the Formula Windsurfing class it was much more tricky. With only two races in before the final day everybody was holding their fingers crossed for a final race to validate the championship. And it came. With just an hour short of the last possible warning signal the wind arrived. It was another bullet for Steve Allen, who is now the new World Champion – and a happy one:

“It’s been a had long week and most of it has been a waiting game. We had to really focus because we knew we were not going to get many races in. I was just trying to stay calm and keep my head in the game. We were lucky to get that last race in at the very last minute. It is not the first time this has happened here in Portimao, so it seems to be that sort of location that delivers in the very end.

All in all I’m very stoked. In the last few years in Formula Windsurfing I’ve been close a number of times, taking second place three or four times over the last years. Missing just by a point here and there. So here I’m very happy to get that last race in and make it official.”

Alexander Cousin and Janis Preiss came in second and third respectively.

But it is not over yet! With the Formula Windsurf Foil starting the championship tomorrow Portimao still has some races to deliver. And I’m sure it will. Stay tuned.

13th of February 20192019 Portimao Formula Championships

The International Formula Windsurfing Class return to Praia da Roche, Portimao, for 2 major championships.

4th of February 2019Australian 2019 Nationals

19th of October 20182018 Annual General Meeting minutes

The meeting was held on Wednesday 19th September 2018, Clube Naval Portimao.

9th of October 2018Committee changes ...

Following this years AGM Vasco Chaveca has decided to step down from the class committee.

20th of September 2018Two down and one more to go

After five days being patient paid off and we have our new Raceboard Masters and Formula Windsurfing world champions.

5th of September 2018AGM 2018 of the International Formula Windsurfing Class - Agenda

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING of the International Formula Windsurfing Class to be held on Wednesday 19th September 2018, after racing in Portimao, Portugal.

20th of August 2018Notice of 2018 AGM

The Annual General Meeting of the Formula Class will take place during the forthcoming World Championships in Portimao, Portugal on Wednesday, september 19th.

6th of July 2018Janis Preiss and Steve Allen win the European Championships

With one race to go both Janis and Steve have secured top spots in the championships for Formula Windsurfing and Formula Windsurfing FOIL.

25th of May 2018Data Protection Policy

We have rewritten our Privacy and Data Protection Policies to ensure that they clearly outline what data we gather.

30th of April 2018Hubert Mokrzycki from Poland claims title in Lagos

Congratulating the overall winner and Masters Champion Hubert Mokrzycki from Poland, and Youth Champion Fernando Lamadrid from Spain.