10th of January 2009, Australia, 2009 Formula Windsurfing Oceanic and Australian Championships

It’s Party Time in Sydney!

Sean O’Brien
The Prizegiving Ceremony for the 2009 Oceanic & Australian Formula Windsurfing Championships kicked off tonight at the Royal Hotel; one the famous Sydney nightspots in Paddington. In true Aussie style, there was enough beer, champagne and wine to keep the thirsty mob partying on until the wee hours of the morning. Taking the Australian Title for the 3rd time this event was Sean O’Brien from Brisbane, with Sam Fawkes from Lake Macquarie finishing in 2nd overall [Sam actually missed the party to jump on a plane and fly to the West Coast of Australia to compete in the Ledge-to-Lancelin race which begins tomorrow morning!) and Sam Parker from Sydney 3rd overall and 1st Master. Allison Shreeve finished 7th overall against the Men and took out the ladies prize with Bruce Healey winning the FE+ division, Rick Murray winning the Grand Masters and all the way from Denmark, Christian Justesen [aka, JV junior] took out the Youth Prize.

Final Results

1st - Sean O’Brien (Australian Champion)
2nd - Sam Fawkes
3rd - Sam Parker (1st Master)
4th - Mike Nelson
5th - Brett Morris
6th - Steven Floyd
7th - Allison Shreeve (1st Lady)
8th - Nathan Bowness
9th – Nathan Hohnberg
10th – Remi Dunoyer
11th – Rick Murray (1st Grand Master)
12th - Murray Towndrow

1st - Bruce Healey (FE+ Division)